History of the International Corrosion Council (ICC) and the International Corrosion Congress

The first attempt to promote a forum for the exchange of corrosion information occurred in Great Britain in the early 1960’s. Under the auspices of the International Union for Pure and Applied Chemistry and the Minister of the British Council for Science, Sir Henry Melville, a plan was conceived to hold an International Congress on Metallic Corrosion. Lord Melville, with the assistance of U.R. Evans, T.P. Hoar and other British scientists, solicited participation from corrosion specialists throughout the world which resulted in the first International Congress on Metallic Corrosion (ICMC) being held in April 1961 in London. The meeting proved to be a great success. Aca estamos editando

The second International Congress on Metallic Corrosion was organised in connection with the 1963 annual NACE conference and took place in March in New York City. Dr Greco served as president with F. La Que and H. Uhlig as vice-presidents. At this second conference a “draft” charter and by-laws for a permanent council for the ICMC were presented to key people from the participating countries. Reactions were favourable so a meeting with all of the world corrosion scientists was arranged.
The draft charter and by-laws were adopted with some minor changes. It was decided that a congress would be held every three years and that each member country would have two voting representatives on the permanent council. Dr Greco was elected the first president, and Dr Pourbaix the first vice-president. T.J. Hull of NACE was appointed secretary of the council. It was also agreed that the third congress would be held in the USSR in 1966.

Dr Greco served as president of the permanent council until the fourth congress held in Amsterdam in 1969, at which time Dr Pourbaix assumed the presidency of the permanent council, and held that position for the fifth congress in Tokyo and the sixth in Sidney.

At the Sidney conference, Bill Hewes of Canada, Dr Stewart Leach of Great Britain, and T.J. Hull of the United States completed a much needed revision of the by-laws. Dr. H.H. Uhlig of the United States was elected president of the permanent council and served as such through the seventh congress held in 1978 in Rio de Janeiro.

Distinguished scientists from around the world have served as president of the permanent council and the success of each ICC congress has been assured by the unselfish work of the conference committee chairmen.

Below is exposed a list of the scientists who have occupied the Presidency of the International Corrosion Council, as well as the Chairmen of the Organizing Committee of the different ICC congresses with the years and the cities where took place.


Year City Country ICC Chairman Chairman of the Organising Committee
1  1961  London  UK  –
2  1963  New York  USA  –  Dr. Greco
3  1966  Moscow  Russia  –  Dr. Kolotrykin
4  1969  Amsterdam  Netherlands  Dr. Greco  –
5  1972  Tokyo  Japan  Dr. Pourbaix (Marcel)  Dr. Okamoto
6  1975  Sydney  Australia  Dr. Pourbaix (Marcel)  Dr. Keys
7  1978  Rio de Janeiro  Brazil  Dr. Uhlig  Dr. Dutra
8  1981  Mainz  Germany  Dr. Leach  Dr. Engell
9  1984  Toronto  Canada  Dr. Lacombre  Dr. Godard
10  1987  Madras  India  Dr. Trabanelli  Dr. Vasu
11  1990  Florence  Italy  Dr. Kruger  Dr. Mazza
12 1993  Houston  USA  Dr. Mattsson  Dr. Payer
13  1996  Melbourne  Australia  Dr. Wood  Dr. Whitby
14  1999  Cape Town  South Africa  Dr. Graham  Dr. White
15  2002  Granada  Spain  Dr. Landolt  Dr. Morcillo
16  2005  Beijing  China  Dr. de Wit  Dr. Ke
17  2008  Las Vegas  USA  Dr. Pourbaix (Antoine)  Dr. Sridhar and Dr. Latanision
18  2011  Perth  Australia  Dr. Tsuru  Dr. Farinha
19  2014  Jeju  South Korea  Dr. Morcillo  Dr. Kim
20  2017  Prague  Czech Republic  Dr. Arroyave  Dr. Prošek
21  2020  São Paulo  Brazil  Dr. Schmitt  Dr. Panossian





Hosted and Powered by
NetSurf - P. Iva/CF: 06953990014 

Copyright © 2024 | Privacy Policy

On this website we use first or third-party tools that store small files (cookie) on your device. Cookies are normally used to allow the site to run properly (technical cookies), to generate navigation usage reports (statistics cookies) and to suitable advertise our services/products (profiling cookies). We can directly use technical cookies, but you have the right to choose whether or not to enable statistical and profiling cookies. Enabling these cookies, you help us to offer you a better experience.